EEOICPA & SEC Illnesses

Listed below are the illnesses covered by EEOICPA – specifically the 22 Specified Cancers covered by the Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) classes of the EEOICPA, as well as various other illnesses covered by the Act. Each listing links to a separate page that describes the illness in more detail and provides examples of how it is understood under the EEOICPA.

Special Exposure Cohort (SEC)

The Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act (EEOICPA) has established a class of Covered Employee known as the Special Exposure Cohort (SEC). The absence of reliable historic radiation dose information (accurate dosimeter data, for example) often requires the establishment of a Special Exposure Cohort, or a group of employees whose claims are subject to a streamlined procedure. The SEC establishes a relaxed causation standard and an efficiency procedure in the place of the more rigorous standard Dose Reconstruction procedure, where a sufficiently accurate estimate of radiation dose cannot be calculated. Because of the inability of the National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), and its health physicists, to accurately estimate radiation dose, the Department of Labor (DOL) generally requires potentially qualified claimants to establish 250 days of site presence at the relevant facility and one of the 22 specified cancers below.

From the Department of Labor website:

If a claimant qualifies for inclusion in a SEC class, the claimant recieves compensation for cancers caused by exposures to radiation without the completion of a radiation dose reconstruction by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) and without a determination by the Department of Labor’s Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness compensation (DEEOIC) of the probability of causation (PoC).

To qualify for compensation as a member of an SEC class, a covered employee must have worked for a specified period of time at an SEC work site and must have developed at least one of 22 “specified cancers.”

Illnesses Covered by EEOICPA: 22 Specified Cancers:

1 – Bone Cancer
2 – Renal Cancer
3 – Leukemia provided the the onset of the disease was at least two years after initial exposure
4 – Lung Cancer (other than in situ lung cancer that is discovered during or after a post-mortem exam)
5 – Multiple Myeloma provided onset was at least 5 years after the initial exposure
6 – Lymphomas (other than Hodgkin’s disease) provided onset was at least 5 years after the initial exposure

Primary cancer of the following (provided onset was at least 5 years after the initial exposure):

7 – Bile Ducts
8 – Brain (malignancies only, not including intracranial endocrine glands and other parts of the central nervous system)
9 – Breast, male
10 – Breast, female
11 – Colon (including rectal cancer)
12 – Esophagus
13 – Gall Bladder
14 – Liver (except if cirrhosis or hepatitis B is indicated)
15 Ovary
16 – Pancreas
17 – Pharynx (including the soft palate, back of the mouth, base of the tongue, and the tonsils)
18 – Salivary Glands
19 – Small Intestine
20 – Stomach
21 – Thyroid
22 – Urinary Bladder (including ureter and urethra)

Free Claim Evaluation

If you, your spouse, your parent, or your grandparent worked for a Department of Energy (DOE) facility or an Atomic Weapons Employer (AWE) facility and has a condition or died  due to illnesses covered  by EEOICPA then you are eligible to apply for compensation!

See our FAQ Page for more information.